Prepare for success

I had the opportunity to train someone on Monday and he asked me a question that in 19 years no one else within my company had asked me. He said “I heard from the guys down South that you have been the Top FSE in the country several times. How were you able to do that?” I paused because again no one had asked me that. I guess most people just thought I was lucky. This is what I told him.

The first 6 months of the year 2000 I decided to begin listening to self-improvement tapes. Since I spent a lot of time driving between accounts, I got tired of listening to sports and political radio stations. By July of 2000 I began formulating a plan. Once the plan was created I began to understand that you have to work smart as well as work hard. I discovered the OWL method. (Look at attachment)

  1. Take Ownership of your work. Study what you do. Prepare for success
  2. Have a Winning attitude regardless of what happens to you
  3. Leverage the events in your life into something greater. Take what you have and leverage it into more money, better relationships, etc…..

 

Opportunities to be Top Dawg do not come along often. I was fortunate in 2001 when the company established the goals for the year. The company goals matched what I had been working on the last 6 months in the year 2000. So I ended up being the Top FSE of the year in 2001 and 2002, because of the preparation, work and vision I had for my territory in the year 2000.

In 2012 I focused on developing as many skills for myself as possible while pushing out a ton of information to my team. More information= better results. 2013 I won HSP of the year because of the information I provided helped us all do better. I was not expecting to win

Bottom Line: You have to do things to put yourself in a position to be able to take advantage of opportunities when they arise. Prepare and put yourself in the position to be lucky. Not sure if I will ever win another award, however I will continue to prepare for success and continue to Hustle.

Get Your Hustle on!!!!OWL

About theunspokentruth12

Dedicated to sharing knowledge, networking and building effective relationships within our community.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

